English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)

Program Goal / Meta del Programa

To assist English Language Learners as they develop English language skills, succeed academically, and overcome barriers that impede their academic success in a learning community that honors and values the cultural and linguistic heritage of every student.

Ayudar a los estudiantes de ingles mientras desarrollan las habilidades para tener éxito académico y a sobrellevar los obstáculos que les impide el éxito académico en una comunidad que honra y valora la herencia cultural y lingüística de todos los estudiantes.

Program Vision / Visión del Programa

Achieving full proficiency in English includes far more than mere fluency in conversation. It means students know English well enough to be “fully competitive in academic uses of English with their age equivalent English-speaking peers.” (Hakuta, 2000)

Adquirir un alto nivel en ingles que incluye mucho más de una fluidez en una conversación. Quiere decir que los estudiantes conozcan tan bien el idioma ingles para que puedan tener “una competencia académica igual que sus compañeros que hablan ingles como primera lengua” (Hakuta, 2000)


Curriculum

Grades K-12


Resources

EL Plan Lincoln County

Annual Report to the Legislature on English Language Learners

ELPA21


Contact Information

Betsy Wilcox
Curriculum/Instruction Administrator
Phone: 541-265-4421
Email: betsy.wilcox@lincoln.k12.or.us

Tami Johnson
Curriculum/Instruction Administrator
Phone: 541-961-1672
Email: tami.johnson@lincoln.k12.or.us

School ELD Specialist
Crestview Heights Elementary Melissa Alberti-Araujo
melissa.alberti@lincoln.k12.or.us
Newport Middle School Taya Keesee
taya.keesee@lincoln.k12.or.us
Newport High School Vicki Krutzikowsky
vicki.krutzikowsky@lincoln.k12.or.us
Oceanlake Elementary Jordan Ilett
jordan.ilett@lincoln.k12.or.us
Sam Case Elementary Arlene Thompson
arlene.thompson@lincoln.k12.or.us
Taft Elementary Mellie Bukovsky
mellie.bukovsky@lincoln.k12.or.us
Taft 7-12 Karissa Snelling
karissa.snelling@lincoln.k12.or.us
Toledo Elementary Janna Limbert
janna.limbert@lincoln.k12.or.us
Toledo Jr/Sr High Tami Johnson
tami.johnson@lincoln.k12.or.us
Waldport Middle/High Tami Johnson
tami.johnson@lincoln.k12.or.us
Yaquina View Elementary Kim Haddon
kim.haddon@lincoln.k12.or.us